Training Posts

Postgraduate Surgical Training in the South East of Scotland rotation incorporates 42 approved posts.

Surgical Training Posts in the South East of Scotland are based at:

  • The Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh
  • The Western General Hospital, Edinburgh
  • Falkirk and District Royal Infirmary
  • Queen Margaret Hospital, Dunfermline
  • Dumfries and Galloway Royal Infirmary
  • Western Isles Hospital, Stornoway
  • The Borders General Hospital, Melrose

At present, four of these posts are reserved for advanced sub-specialty training and three of the posts have lecturer status which includes an additional commitment to teaching and research.

In general, each trainee will spend one or two years in a district general hospital and the remainder of their training in the University teaching hospitals.

The posts are designed for training in general surgery and this programme is recognised for training by the Joint Committee on Surgical Training (JCST).

The training scheme is supervised locally by the South East Scotland Surgical Training Committee.

Types of surgery

Specialist Training is available in the following types of surgery:

  • colorectal
  • breast
  • hepatobiliary and pancreatic
  • vascular
  • oesophago-gastric
  • laparoscopic
  • liver, kidney and pancreas transplantation


Each trainee is interviewed on a six-monthly basis including an annual Record of In Training Assessment (RITA) or Annual Review of Competence Progression (ARCP) to ensure satisfactory progression.